Ferenc Krausz received his honorary award at the Wolf Prize Ceremony 2022 in Israel at the Knesset on June 16.

After the winners of the Wolf Prize were announced in February 2022, the awards were ceremonially now presented on Thursday, June 16, in the Knesset, the unicameral legislature of Israel. Our whole team would like to congratulate once again Ferenc Krausz, who together with Anne L'Huillier and Paul Corkum, received the Honorary Award for Physics this year. The jury justified the prize to Ferenc Krausz "for pioneering contributions to ultrafast laser research and attosecond physics". In his acceptance speech, the awardee thanked his current and former team members for their joint success and his family, especially his wife, for their heartfelt support. He also announced his intention to donate the prize money to the initiative scienceforpeople.org, which he launched with team members under the worrying impressions of the war in Ukraine. Together with aid organizations such as the youth organization STAN, this cross-border project of scientists is currently working in war-torn Ukraine to help the needy and refugees, especially in the area of education, which is currently often denied right now. More projects, also in other oppressed regions, will follow in the future and will be made possible by generous donations like this one.

You can watch the ceremony in full here.

The award to Ferenc Krausz starts at 1:09:20.